Little Kid Sick Day

Little Kid Sick Day

I'm sick today. I've been sick since last week. There seems to be something in being sick that brings out the worst in us. I'm whining and moaning and groaning and all I want is for someone to take me home and tuck me into bed and take care of me.

I tried staying home this morning but unfortunately my home is not a good place for a sick person. The renovations have begun in the apartment beside mine and the workers were using a sledgehammer on cupboards and hammering at baseboards at 8:30 a.m. They followed this up with what sounded like a cross between a giant vacuum and one of those paint shaker things. When they started up a table saw right outside my window (I'm not exaggerating) I decided to give up and go in to work. I went outside and the renovator's truck was blocking my car in so I biked to work in the wind. I'm sure this did wonders for my cough and the pain in my sinuses.

So right now I'm primarily suffering from lack of sleep, irritation, and a vague sense that God is punishing me for staying in bed on a Monday morning.

Some days I just don't feel equipped to deal with the world. I want to return to my childhood and lie in my parent's big bed and have someone read to me until I fall asleep. To wake up to warm sunlight, and crackers and ginger ale on the bedside table. To know that the only place I need to travel is to the bathroom or to the couch to watch a Muppet video. I'm not required to do laundry or dishes or pay bills or run errands or worry. I just have to lie there and concentrate on getting better.

I think that's the way to go: to concentrate on getting better. When I was little I don't think I was ever sick for weeks on end (with the exception of Kindergarten). Now every time I get a cold, it descends immediately to a nice warm hidey-hole in my lungs and sets up camp. It then sends out forays into my sinuses, and ears and back into my throat. It becomes my closest companion for one to three months. I've been on so many different inhalers and antibiotics (which I know is bad!) and cough syrups and pills that the pharmacists down the street know me by name. The coughing tends to dislocate my ribs, which necessitates another trip to the chiropractor to get everything banged back into place. Thank god I have benefits! I would be bankrupt otherwise.

I wish my body were still strong like it was when I was young. I was clumsy and accident-prone, but I was generally in good health. I think I need to invest in a new immune system. Is anyone selling? I don't really have any diseases beyond asthma but I have all of these injuries and illnesses and syndromes. I'm not even very old! Now I have people ask me what part of my body doesn't have a problem. The best answer I can come up with is: my hair. My hair just has an aggressive personality. It's 'special needs'. My hair is, in fact, a whole topic for another day. But my hair is not sick or injured. I haven't ever sprained my hair or had to get prescription medicine for it. Go hair!

So like I said, I'm sick and whiney and moany and groany and I'm going home to bed. To soup and a hot water bottle. To flat gingerale and crackers. To sleep (without renovation). To dreamland and back to my childhood.

2003-09-15 || 3:04 p.m.

going :: camping

Official NaNoWriMo 2005 Participant
Sign up for my Notify List and get email when I update!

email:
powered by
NotifyList.com