I WANT TO GO HOME!!! (Fuck 'Em!)

I WANT TO GO HOME!!! (Fuck 'Em!)

So yesterday was a phenomenally crappy day. It started at 4 am with some asshole buzzing my apartment at random intervals right up until 5 a.m. I didn't really need that sleep anyways. My alarm goes off at 7 and I sleep through half an hour of it. Fine, I can get ready for work in 15 minutes, no problem. I turn my light on, start getting dressed, and there's a knocking on my door. Crap! I can't answer the door in just a bra! I find my robe, throw it on and open the door. Two renovators are peering at me and past me into my apartment. The head guy looks at me, makes a face at my hair (which is still having hysterics after being woken up too early) and says "You still need to shower, don't you?". I tersely replied, "I'll be gone in 15 minutes" (as in, Piss off, this is my time!). He answers, "we need to get into your bathtub to access the drain of the bathtub in the suite above yours" (as in: right freaking now, tough shit if you need to get ready for work.) FINE! I'll use the kitchen sink and the mirror in my hallway to get ready while some guy is in my bathroom taking the ceiling apart.

Shockingly, I'm late for work. I'm coming down with something, I dunno what, a cold maybe? But a weird one. This always makes work a joy. Plus the damn printer is on the fritz again and the server keeps going down.

Then I get home to find a note has been slipped under my door. "Please move everything away from the walls as we will be replacing the baseboards. Thank you." Seems polite right, not a big deal? WRONG! Already I cannot have anything in my kitchen or bathroom. My kitchen currently contains a dishcloth and the food in my fridge. The bathroom contains a shower curtain and a roll of toilet paper. This stuff is mostly jammed into my bedroom with a few items in the living room. Now they inform me with NO NOTICE whatsoever that I have to move everything in my entire apartment into the centre of the room. Problems:

1. I had plans.

2. I live alone.

3. Furniture is heavy.

4.I have a bad back.

5. Even the freaking closets have baseboards in them.

6. Once everything is moved to the centre of the room, how in the hell am I supposed to live there?

FUCKING RENOVATORS!!!!!!!! Plus the plumber guy left all sorts of shit in my bathtub. Seriously gross!

I called Bear, and he and Africa came over to help me move stuff. I'm sure this is the best way we could have spent an evening. The phrase of the day was "If they can't fit in this space, FUCK 'EM!" By the end of it I'd dug out drinks (jam flavoured Vex, makes me crave toast) for Africa and Bear as a thank you, and I was swigging Butter Ripple Schnapps straight out of the bottle. All I can say is they'd better damn well be done the baseboards by the weekend! (oh, my god, it just occurred to me that if they paint those base boards I won't be able to go home for at least a week, crap!)

I just can't believe that I'm paying $600 a month to be held hostage like this. I've been able to stay in my own apartment less than 10 days so far this month and I'll probably be out for the rest of the month now. I'm a homeless nomad, there's no relief from the noise and fumes of renovation. I can't even take any time off work because there's nowhere to go during the day. I haven't been able to even start Bear's anniversary present. I'm stressed out, getting sick and I'm at my wit's end.

The original notice said that the disruption in my suite would last 2 weeks or less. It's been 3 full weeks since they started in my suite and they aren't even half done. Never mind the disruption from adjacent suites, and having our water turned off several times each week. Really, is that necessary? I don't even think that my apartment needs renovation. I live alone; do I really need a dishwasher? I already have a microwave, why put one in? The only things that I need are to get my leaking taps fixed and my hood fan, both of which I've been waiting over 6 months to have fixed (lazy bastard building manager). New lino would be nice too since the current stuff looks like crap, stained and cracked and peeling. That wouldn't even take a week.

If I'd known how bad this was going to be, I would have moved in a heartbeat, never mind the hassle of moving!

Don't they realize that real people with busy lives are in these apartments? No one can believe that I'm not even getting a discount on my rent. I'm miserable. I just want the renos to be done and to put my life and my home back together. If my rent goes up after the renovations I am seriously going to go ape (howling and climbing the walls and throwing shit). I HATE THIS!!! I WANT TO GO HOME!!!

2003-10-23 || 12:00 p.m.

going :: camping

Official NaNoWriMo 2005 Participant
Sign up for my Notify List and get email when I update!

email:
powered by
NotifyList.com