Broken

January first brought two major events: Stanley had a breakdown and the rest of us had a girl�s night.

On that fateful day, Stanley reached both twenty-five years of age (which people tell me is technically antique for a car, I dunno) and 200,000 kilometers. Having passed these two milestones, Stanley decided that he just weren�t gonna go no more. I had just paid to sent him to the doctor�s in November, for a cracked carb bowl and leaky seals. This time it was his starter; Stanley�s ticker had ceased to tick. Another $450 and he�s back on the road again. My poor bank account, doesn�t Stanley know that I have a freaking wedding to pay for?

We had our girl�s night at iHOP (the International House of Party). The plan was to have chocolate fondue, watch girly movies and just relax all day. Instead we chatted for about 10 hours, ending with most of us pilled onto one couch. As much fun as we had, it just made it harder to leave that night knowing that Africa was going back to Ham-ville again and that Smelly was going back to the land of warmer-than-here. We aren�t going to get to see them again until our wedding, a whole five months (although it�s funny that it seems like a long time to miss them, but a short panicky length of time until the wedding).

I miss those two girls more than I would have guessed, and knowing that they will probably never come back to live here again, only for visits, makes me indescribably sad. My life was better for having them in it, and there are holes now in the spaces they used to fill.

2005-01-02 || 2:03 a.m.

going :: camping

Official NaNoWriMo 2005 Participant
Sign up for my Notify List and get email when I update!

email:
powered by
NotifyList.com