Anticipation

The week before the wedding was complete craziness. Paul and I both worked part of the week and we had difficulty cramming everything into the short time left. Smacked was over at our place almost every night, helping with anything and everything. One night we had a "help with the wedding� party where I worked on the guestbook, Kristus and Bear worked on our kissing wheel, Melly printed a bazillion programs and wrapped gifts, and Smacked got my bridesmaid's bandanas ready, among a hundred other jobs.




On Wednesday, the stress eased off a bit. When I went to pick up my dress that morning it was still too big (there had been a manufacturer�s error which meant that my dress was about 6 sizes too big when it arrived and the seamstress had taken it in over and over (and over)). By 3:00 I had a dress that fit relatively well and Bear had picked up our rings. The two last major items were in place; all that was left was finicky little stuff.

By Thursday, the biggest problem left was that I was sick. I had an incredibly sore throat and could barely talk. Smacked, Chnaners and Smelly frog-marched me to the doctor who pronounced that she �didn�t think� that I had strep throat but just in case�she wrote me a wrong prescription and gave me a green gargle thing that eventually gave me thrush. Bleh.

As planned, I went for manicures and pedicures with my sister (Postie) and my two new sisters (Rider and Plaid). The girl working on my sister's foot sure had her work cut out for her; Postie broke her foot 3 weeks before the wedding and is also incredibly ticklish. It was nice to relax and hang out with my sisters and my honorary sister, Pug, who came along to hang out and take photos.

Africa came over to visit Bear and I on Thursday night and we put aside our wedding chores to hang out with her. We hadn't seen or heard from her since she arrived on the Tuesday because she had been entirely recreating the slide show for our wedding. The best thing about weddings is that all of the people you love and miss come back to town for a visit and make sure to see you.

All too soon Friday, Rehearsal Day, had arrived. We picked up the liquor and met all of our helpers at the hall to decorate. Most of the setup went smoothly, aside from the items we had forgotten. Pug went back to my place with my key to pick them up.

The teeniest decorator helped by sleeping while his mommy wrapped the last of our favours.


Bear left to pick up the vans with Bean while Africa tested her slideshow and the rest of us waited for Pug to return�and waited�and waited�Finally Smelly asked if there was any reason that I had to wait or could I go pick up the fruit and meet everyone at the church. No one could think of any reason, so I left. Arriving at my place with roughly 60 pounds of fruit, and with enough time to change before I left for the rehearsal, I discovered the reason that I couldn�t leave the hall. Now I was on the south side of the city and Pug was on the North side with my key.

I ran to the office to see if I could catch the staff before they left for the day and see if they would take pity on me and let me in. Apparently they close an hour early on Fridays and all of the keys were locked in the safe. Great. I called maintenance who charged me all of the money I had to let me in.

Bear soon picked me up and we sped off to the rehearsal, only 15 minutes late. I have never regretted 15 minutes so much! The volunteer organizer at the church, lets call her �Splenda� was a bit psycho. She yelled at all of the people who were on time about being late. She freaked out that the rehearsal would go late (we had checked in advance to make sure there was no one after us and that it didn�t matter how long we took). She then spent a ton of time during the rehearsal telling us about her wedding (really, who cares?), telling us how she was proud of us (she just met us and honestly I couldn�t even remember her name) and yelling at the ushers. To top it all off this was the sign that greeted us at the door:

Bear and his family have been active members of the parish for over twenty years. Splenda was given forms with both of our names correctly spelled numerous times. Both of our names are wrong on the sign.


These are the rehearsal bridemaids bandanas (pug is missing from the picture). For the record, Kristus and Arat's say "Bridesmaid!", mine says "Bride!", Postie's says "Ringbearer!" and Sailor's says "Bridesguy!".

Reheasal complete, and anticipating never seeing Splenda again, we rolled out to the farm to celebrate with food, fun and new-born kittens (not for consumption)!


By midnight Bear had picked up his last groomsman from the airport and was relaxing at his best man�s house while the girls and I frantically finished all of the last minute work.

Three am rolled around and the last details were finished. I was so exhausted that I fell asleep easily knowing that everything was in place for the next day�s festivities.


2005-06-25 || 11:31 a.m.

going :: camping

Official NaNoWriMo 2005 Participant
Sign up for my Notify List and get email when I update!

email:
powered by
NotifyList.com