Early Christmas

Just for all of the people that I seem to have confused out there�Bear and I are not engaged. We have just figured out for certain that we both want to marry each other eventually. There is no date set. There is not even a date-to-get-engaged set. There is no ring. If you want to know when we're getting engaged pester Bear, it's his turn, I got all of the daily pestering up until this point. In case anyone misinterprets this as bitter, I'm not. I'm as happy as can be with my being-loved-peace-of-mind. That said, thanks to all of you for the well wishing (esp. Dr. Africa, Plaid Devil and Xeryfyn) I love you all for supporting us!

Today I went back to Irish dance. I half-heartedly went back last week and kind of danced for part of the lesson just to see how my feet would react. They didn't like it, but the rest of me remembered why I missed it so much. I learned a whole new reel last week. This week was even more painful. My fifth metatarsals are so far from where they're supposed to be that I can SEE they're displaced, and my feet have been cramping constantly since I got home three hours ago. Every so often my toes cramp and suddenly splay out in all directions, just like a cat's limbs splay out when it is woken from a nap by falling off the counter. Mrrreooooww!!

But� I loved getting back into hard shoe. I had sold my hard shoes because they apparently were making my foot problems worse so I'm now dancing in my runners with the orthotics in them. It's a bit difficult because they're big and clunky and stick to the floor when I try to do rallies, plus they don't really make any noise when I stamp so they're not very satisfying, but they'll do until my feet get much better. I started learning a Hornpipe today, first and second step, so I have lots to practice in my head and really practice over Christmas break. I just don't want to overdo it and have to quit dancing again.

I've pretty much decided not to do the year-end show. I kind of hated doing it anyways. Plus there's a possibility that for the third year in the row we won't be doing hard shoe in it, which means that we'll learn virtually no hard shoe this year. That sucks! Also the theme this year is Cat in the Hat. Meh. Plus I'm thinking about scheduling surgery for April/Mayish if I can get in, I'm going to get my referral to a surgeon tomorrow and we'll see how that goes. (Nobody freak out, I'm fine, I may do an entry about it later).

Luckily there is an alternate/makeup class that runs on Thursdays so even if I don't do the year-end show I still can learn the dances we're doing this year. I'm going to miss Rosie though (my friend from choir that I only see in Irish dance class). Maybe my feet will heal enough that I can join again fully next year, depending on what I'm doing with the rest of my life. Or maybe I'll switch and go dance at Mattierin, they don't have stupid year-end shows and apparently Princess's friend teaches the adult class. I can always steal Rosie away to come with me.

I got to spend some quality time today with a good friend that I don't see very often. I met Hell for coffee in our usual place. As usual, neither of us had coffee. We caught up on each other's lives a bit, which was nice.

Hell found out not too long ago that her little brother (little meaning 23) has cancer. He's had surgery and two rounds of chemo so far and things seem to be going well. She worries though because he's on so many medications and he's developed some additional problems due to the treatments. The poor boy is exhausted. My heart goes out to them; this must be a terrible time for them. I can only imagine the pain and fear they must be going through.

Hell had her brother shave her head to raise funds for the Cross Cancer Institute. Without even trying she's raised about $2500 so far, she's far outstripped her goal of raising $500. Not too shocking (since she's gorgeous) she looks absolutely stunning with a shaved head. I think I actually like it better than I liked her hair, which is saying a lot because she had beautiful dark brown hair that fell in ringlets past her shoulders.

It amazes me too, the depths of the human heart and the lengths that people will go to in support of their loved ones, friends, acquaintances and those that they barely even know. Some have chipped in money knowing only that someone knows someone whose friend's brother has cancer. Some got together and said, "What can we do for the family?" then cooked up a storm and froze dishes so that the family would have easy healthy meals to sustain them in this trying time. I'm trying to chip in to everything while as much as possible making sure that my friend knows I'm here for her, just down the block any time she needs me. I want her to know that I'll do anything to help her, and the sweet boy who offered to be my backup in a time that I needed cheering up.

You're in our thoughts and our hearts Shane. We're praying for you, your wife, your family, and for the wisdom of the doctors that are working to help you. I wish you love, hope, strength, and health, in this difficult time. I hope Christmas comes early for you.

2003-12-02 || 11:29 p.m.

going :: camping

Official NaNoWriMo 2005 Participant
Sign up for my Notify List and get email when I update!

email:
powered by
NotifyList.com