Suitcase full of me

I swiped this from Serenaville. It was kind of a neat exercise to take "who I am" or how I want people to see me and to show it using only items.

"So, say you were meeting a new person--blind date, new friend, who knows--and you wanted them to have some idea of what kind of person you are, and who you are. But you can't actually tell them in so many words. Instead, you have to give them a box, with a dozen things in it for them to look at/read/listen to/taste/whatever. What would you put in the box? And a copy of your journal or a link to your journal would be the same thing as just telling them directly, yourself, so that's not allowed."

In my box, would be the following things (In no particular order):

1. A plate of assorted cheeses (including havarti, colby, cheddar, cream, all the favorites) accompanied by the customary bottle of lactaid pills.

2. A miniature camp, complete with tent, fire (with little marshmallows on sticks), canoe and paddles.

3. A collage of photos of my friends (esp. Bear).

4. Robert Jordan's "Wheel of Time" series, Guy Gavriel Kay's "The Lions of Al-Rassan" and Jennifer Weiner's "Good in Bed".

5. CD's: Great Big Sea, Guster, the Waifs, Big Sugar, Toad the Wet Sprocket, BNL and Sarah MacLachlan.

6. A camera.

7. My daytimer.

8. Zigadenus venenosus (death Camas), Zigadenus elegans (white Camas), Arnica cordifolia (heart-leaved Arnica), Maianthemum canadense (wild lily-of-the-valley)� all prepared for a herbarium.

9. Friends, Scrubs, and That 70's Show on DVD.

10. A hockey stick (this is a big box!) and my Irish dance shoes (both pairs).

11. Sheet music and tapes/CD's for all of my Wammick years.

12. A bandana, comfy T-shirt, nifty pants (zip-offs) and Thorlo wool-free hiking socks all freshly dried with regular scent bounce dryer sheets (which I can't do anymore cuz it makes me die) or lightly scented with Joop cologne.

There it is, me in a box, what I love the most squashed into a suitcase. Knowing me it would take me weeks of lists and packing up until the very last minute with just-in-case items...now what did I forget to pack?

2004-03-15 || 7:25 p.m.

going :: camping

Official NaNoWriMo 2005 Participant
Sign up for my Notify List and get email when I update!

email:
powered by
NotifyList.com