The Superman Effect

Every Monday night Kristus, Princess, Chnaners, and I go to deep-water aerobics. Lately Bear and Smacked have been joining us too. (Okay in all honesty lately I�ve missed a lot but that�s going to change as soon as my class is over, pinky swear!) One of the main motivators for subjecting ourselves to the indignity of writhing and thrashing around in a pool with pastel foam accessories strapped around our waists is the view. By the view I mean the greek god that is our instructor (okay so I don�t know how much of a motivator this is for Bear, but for the rest of us�sign me up for class!) It�s a great motivator to have someone with washboard abs demonstrating how to concentrate your exercise on your abs. Yum!

Anyways, last Monday Greek was unfortunately wearing his T-shirt (sigh) but had switched from his usual contact lenses to glasses. Bear paddled over to me and whispered, �So�is he hotter in glasses?� I nearly sank. I swear the water must be slopping over the edge of the pool by the end of Greek�s classes. From all the drooling I mean. (Okay, try not to picture swimming in drool, gross!)

This got me thinking about the Superman effect. You know, dorky Clark Kent goes into the telephone booth with glasses firmly in place, a whirlwind of flying clothing ensues, sculpted Superman strides out of the phone booth, his vision miraculously repaired. That booth will never be the same again! (Actually, my question is: Where does he put his briefcase? Ew.) Peter Parker/Spiderman. Oh come on, Spiderman is a least a little cute. Tie me up web man!

How many guys do you know that you never really noticed until they got contacts, then huminahuminahuminah! (this is a technical term for yowza!) Africa is a perfect example: when Foreman does his hair and wears contacts her highly developed brain flies right out her ears and she gushes. I don�t blame her, her boy cleans up nice.

Well, I work the other way around�the Reverse Superman Effect (RSE), I guess. I�ve always liked the skinny geeky looking guys with glasses. Love the glasses. Glasses exponentially increase the hotness of any hot guy. Bear is not a skinny geeky guy (I actually made him a T-shirt that reads �Computer Geek in Disguise�). He�s 6� tall with broad shoulders, big strong arms and generally a decent tan for a Canadian. Bear discovered the power of the Reverse Superman Effect when I showed up at his door unexpectedly one day and he answered the door wearing his glasses. I was pretty much a quivering puddle on the floor. He had never mentioned before that he even has glasses, which he wears only for work.

Bear and I have a running joke where he adds things that I like to himself, to make him seem sexier. For example, wearing his tux, wearing glasses, wearing joop, sitting on a set of shelves, holding a tray of havarti�you get the idea. I�m weird. So yeah, glasses good.

2004-03-29 || 4:49 p.m.

going :: camping

Official NaNoWriMo 2005 Participant
Sign up for my Notify List and get email when I update!

email:
powered by
NotifyList.com