What do you do with a drunken sailor�

I've never had the occasion arise where I've had to say to a doctor, "I feel like I'm on a ship and I'm drunk." He actually wrote that down on my chart, how hilarious is that?

The doctor said that it was, as I suspected, vertigo caused by a viral inner ear infection. He gave me a prescription for some pills to help with the dizziness and nausea, and a note that I was to be off work for three days because it was "unsafe" for me to go. (I'm not certain if he meant unsafe for me or unsafe for others.)

I went to the pharmacy in Safeway and as I shakily wove my way towards the counter the pharmacist started to look increasingly alarmed. When I arrived at the counter she actually asked me if I was okay and told me I didn't look well. I've never had that happen before, not with all of the odd prescriptions I've taken in. Granted, looking up the medi-centre in the phonebook has never made me almost lose my lunch before today either.

Now, with the help of the happy pills, I'm the drunken sailor who has managed to find her way down the plank and off the H.M.S. Seasick to shore. I just hope this isn't the kind of drunk where you wake up hung-over on the beach with sand in your underwear.

2004-12-12 || 11:38 p.m.

going :: camping

Official NaNoWriMo 2005 Participant
Sign up for my Notify List and get email when I update!

email:
powered by
NotifyList.com