Hug your inner ear today!

So hopefully this will be my last entry of "I'm so sick" and the next entry about my health will be an "I'm all recovered" style update. I promise that tomorrow's entry will not be about spinning worlds and nausea-fests.

The scoop for today is, back to the doctor for the seasick sailor. Specifically because I was supposed to be writing my final exam this afternoon, and since I was having trouble reading a page without having to go and lie down quietly with my eyes closed, I figured that if I went to write the test, the odds of a hurl-o-rama were pretty high. Even just typing makes me dizzy. I can't watch the screen and a lot of the time I have to have my eyes closed to type these entries. To read from the screen I have to lean way back in my chair with my head supported.

So after almost 3 hours in the medi-centre today I found out that this may last as long as the 25th, going by the doctor's best guess. He said that I might get better sooner; there was no real way of telling. Personally, I noticed that I was improving on Sunday and Monday when I could take my drugs and sleep whenever I wanted to, but on Tuesday and Wednesday when I wasn't taking anything and I was trying to study, when I was pushing myself to stay awake and upright, I got worse fairly quickly.

So my plan is to take the pills as often as I need to and to sleep whenever I feel like it and to do absolutely nothing else for the next 3 days, minimum. I'm hoping, (fingers crossed) that I'll be able to go back to work on Monday. I've already missed 6 days of work and I'm waaayyyy to busy right now to be taking that kind of time off. Odds are, I'll have 2 feet of mail waiting for me when I get back, and roughly six thousand emails. You think I'm exaggerating, but I'm not. Around Christmas I start measuring the twice-daily mail deliveries in inches and feet. This continues into February when the bulk of the deliveries taper off. I will have been away for 10 days including weekends and I get between 500 and 700 emails per day. Luckily, the bulk of these are spam but I still have to wade through to find the real messages.

I have to stop getting sick at this time of year. Last year I had mono, starting on the 13th of December, this year an inner ear infection starting on the 12th.

I'm stressed about work, and school and getting ready for the holidays, never mind all of the little things like getting groceries, or getting loonies for laundry. I hate having to ask for help all the time. I asked so often when I wrecked my ankle this summer that I worry about wearing out my welcome. I hate not being self-sufficient, I hate not being independent; more than that I hate being so dependent all of the time.

Notice to my inner ear, specifically the semi-circular canals: Relax, get some rest, drain some fluid and get well soon. I miss you! I promise I'll never take you for granted again.

2004-12-16 || 11:47 p.m.

going :: camping

Official NaNoWriMo 2005 Participant
Sign up for my Notify List and get email when I update!

email:
powered by
NotifyList.com