Gifts from the sky

Today is an exciting day; it's the beginning of Christmas!

The Christmas season begins every year with the Festival of Nine Lessons and Carols concert. This tradition, for me, started in my first year of choir (1994). It's just not Christmas without going to sing carols with up to 2,000 other people, accompanied by a booming organ. It doesn't matter how bad my day has been, how gross the weather is or how cranky I am, the gentle strains of "God be with you" never fail to fill my eyes and warm my heart. I leave the concert covered in hugs and well wishes, invariably traveling home with loved ones and filled with a Christmas-time glow. What better way to kick off the season of peace-on-earth-good-will-to-humanity?

That's the beginning of the Christmas season, but today is the real beginning of Christmas because some of my favorite people in the world get back to town. Roscoe and Smelly should be arriving any minute, and Africa and Foreman get back today too. I'm extra excited about having dates with Smelly and a girl's night (although unfortunately I will probably not be able to go out dancing like we had planned) and Roscoe is staying with Bear so I might even get to see him tonight. Man alive do I miss having those two around.

Africa has promised that it won't be too long until we get to see her either, and perhaps Foreman too. It's been so strange going over to Bear's and not seeing Africa there. Damn, I have missed that girl! To add to the fun, Plaid and Gee get back early next week so I'm sure we'll have fun visiting and playing new games with them too.

Our group has been coming apart at the seams, with so many people moving away, and when they all come home at Christmas it's like we all come alive again. We have more parties and gatherings and get-togethers, more laughter and hugs and joy than we do in the entire rest of the year put together. This year, in the next two weeks, we have a giant game of shinny hockey, Pseudo-Christmas, Christmas movie nights, the Brat's Birthday, New Year's (where?), and a girl's night.

I feel like every airplane that lands is bringing me a present, not a shiny new one with pretty wrapping, but a dear old beloved one, that I know will be perfectly comfortable. I'm so excited I just may burst!

2004-12-17 || 9:31 p.m.

going :: camping

Official NaNoWriMo 2005 Participant
Sign up for my Notify List and get email when I update!

email:
powered by
NotifyList.com