If I Ran The World

It was a retarded week at work this week. Really. The most exciting event in the office today was that it was freaking cold so Dani borrowed my heater and left it on during lunch (only 15 minutes but still not smart) and when she came back there was a burning smell and both of our computers didn't work. Okay, no problem; it's probably just a breaker. The IT guy and the Building Guy both look at the breakers, power bars, cords etc. that we had all already looked at. Nada. They call in an electrician. He goes through all of the same steps. Eventually he gets a ladder and starts poking around in the ceiling and discovers�a power bar. Yup, some genius has hooked all of the wiring in the central office to a power bar in our ceiling. Does this make sense to anyone? So the next time our power quits we need to go get a ladder, climb up and take down the ceiling tile and reset the mini-breaker on the power bar in the ceiling. Weird.

I'm super-busy at work right now. It's the middle of the grad school application season and I have a 3-week backlog of email, mail and online apps on my desk. Nevermind all of the other crap that keeps cropping up and the new online app system and student administration systems not working worth anything. I'm getting close to pulling my hair out. Dani has evaluations to type for 300ish classes. Jane has so little work that she actually literally fell asleep on her desk today. Whose computer works? I'll give you one guess.

I'm also incredibly annoyed because I've discovered that they're re-evaluating Jane's job. She apparently thinks that she should be paid more for staring at the wall and sleeping on her desk. Seriously folks, she isn't even faking it. Meanwhile she's not even doing the minor things that are a part of her job that would make everyone else's jobs easier. The thing that bugs me the most, I think, is that she will occasionally ask if someone wants help. If you ask her to do something menial like filing she will refuse to do it. The one time I pointed out the idiocy of this stance, she filed my files but couldn't manage to handle actually putting them in alphabetical order. It took me months to get things back in order. I don't care how minor something is, if you're going to do something to it well. If you're going to be half-assed about it, piss off go home and don't expect to get paid.

If only I ran the world, eh?

If I ran the world there would be no smoking anywhere, perfume would be outlawed and the pineapple plant would be extinct. People who walked or drove like idiots would not be allowed to walk or drive in public. Jails wouldn't have luxuries (seriously what is up with that?). There would be serious laws about cell phones since I'm certain that they make people stupid. A license and training would be required to have a child. All world leaders would be required to go on month long river canoe trips together with only basic supplies (I'm certain that this would bring about both world peace and greater sympathy with those who are going hungry). I would rearrange the distribution of wealth. Hard work would be rewarded, laziness and manipulation would not. Three words: universal health care (I can't imagine not having access to health care, even if our system is not fantastic, and I know that much of the world doesn't). Increased funding for health research. Increased access to education and support for teachers (but not the crappy lazy ones, I'd boot them). The punishment for sex offender would be to have the offending part removed (be it castration, clitorectomy (is that a word?), or removal of hands/mouth/anything else). Seriously, I can't believe that someone who abuses a child can get away with it, it makes me sick (repeat sex offender should not be a phrase that is ever uttered). DDT (and other pesticide) sales would be banned worldwide, not just in developed countries that now export it to developing countries (idiots). Everyone would have access to clean water and basic foods. Consequences for pollution would be much greater. Things would be a damn sight more efficient if I ran the world.

So basically, from the little things that annoy me to the greater world issues, I think that we could be doing much better. I like to think that I would do better than the current leaders, but sometimes things are just beyond your control. I like to think that they have good intentions but some days it's so hard to see it.

Yes, I'm cynical and bitter and pessimistic about people, but underlying it all is hope. I believe that we are worth saving and that the world has the potential to be a better place. I hope that mankind wises up soon, or things are going to be very rough on our grandkids, I'd hate to have my own descendants cursing my name.

2003-12-06 || 2:20 a.m.

going :: camping

Official NaNoWriMo 2005 Participant
Sign up for my Notify List and get email when I update!

email:
powered by
NotifyList.com